President: Dr. Czesław August (University of Wrocław)

Vice-President: Dr. Sylwia Kowalska (Oil and Gas Institute – National Research Institute, Kraków)


The Polish Clay Group has the formal status of a section of the Mineralogical Society of Poland. The group was founded on March 22, 1973 in Kraków. Originally, it was headed for many years by Prof. Leszek Stoch, then by Prof. Edeltrauda Helios-Rybicka. In 1999, Prof. Jan Środoń took over and a two-year term of the head was introduced. In the next years the chairmen of the Polish Clay Group were successively Prof. Krzysztof Bahranowski, Dr. Czesław August, Dr. Katarzyna Górniak, Prof. Jan Środoń, Dr. hab. Paweł Bylina, Dr. Tadeusz Szydłak and Dr. hab. Michał Skiba. At present this function is being performed by Dr. Czesław August.

Over past 39 years, the group organised numerous lectures devoted to clay minerals, 22 one or two-day symposia, and 4 three to four-day national conferences (1977 in Boleslawiec, 1983 in Krakow, 1988 in Warsaw, and 1993 in Trzebieszowice). In 1999, the group hosted the European Clay Conference (EUROCLAY) in Kraków.

In 1998 the group formally joined ECGA. At the end of 2016 the Polish Clay Group amounted to 29 formal members (paying ECGA dues). At present, the group meets once a year for a one-day session. A fund supporting the participation of young scientists in EUROCLAY conferences was established in 2000. The first awards were granted in 2003 at the EUROCLAY meeting in Modena, the second – in 2007 at the EUROCLAY meeting in Aveiro and the third – in 2011 at the EUROCLAY meeting in Antalya.

 Information on the Polish Clay Group Award 2019 

In 1999, the group formed a federation with Slovak, Hungarian and Croatian partners, which decided to held joint conferences (2001: Stará Lesná, Slovakia; 2004: Miskolc, Hungary; 2006: Opatija, Croatia; 2008: Zakopane, Poland; 2010: Budapest, Hungary; 2012: Pruhonice, Czech Republic; 2014: Dresden, Germany; 2016: Košice, Slovakia). The next MECC will be held in 2018 in Zagreb, Croatia.



Scientific symposium in Sobótka – June 2005

Scientific symposium in Kraków – May 2006

Scientific symposium in Kraków – May 2007

4th Mid-European Clay Conference in Zakopane – September 2008

Scientific symposium in Kraków – September 2009

Scientific symposium in Warszawa – September 2010